Empowered

Aren’t there times when you feel like going the other way when you see someone coming in your direction?

It’s a challenge to keep moving forward and greet that person as if you don’t know anything, as if nothing happened. Especially when you know just how much that person made things difficult for you in college/school/life?

You know for a fact that this person acts as the conduit of rumors and gossips. But you can’t just go and throw it in their face. It’s not the right place or time for that.

And it kills you inside that you have to act as if you are ignorant.

That, I believe, is what takes true strength.

Sometimes, I wish I had turned the other way, or ignored the person, or even say ‘Just don’t talk to me anymore’. But then I realized, those are cowardly ways. They show that they affected me. And I didn’t want to give them that much power.

I read a quote yesterday quite by coincidence. It said, ‘Situations and People are powerless without your reaction.”

It struck me.

I thought why should I give them that much power over me. They are not worth the anger, the hurt and the words of warning.

I thought – I should be like that. Be so strong that nothing what they ever say or do touches me.

 

So here you go people, when there is a something that tries to test your patience and pride, just take a deep breath, take a step back, stop being angry and respond calmly.

Don’t react, though you’d be tempted to.

Don’t bother, no matter what. Just smile and ignore 🙂

This is what I keep telling myself day-in, day-out. 🙂 🙂 🙂

But guess what – you’ll be stronger for it.

❤ S

Leave a Reply

